Life in the Big City

Yes. That title is sarcastic. I live in a town of somewhere around 14,000 people. Not exactly a metropolis.

“Where are you going with this?” I hear you asking on the other side of the computer screen. I shall make my point. My door has an absurd number of locks. The only doors I’ve seen like this are a) on TV (or movies) and b) the aforementioned is set in a big city with actual crime.

Yes, three locks, all of different styles. The keyhole under the door knob does not function.

Bonus: look at that old light switch! 2nd Bonus: that long metal rod is used to open a window above the door. By pinching the little tabs, the rod can be slid up and down, thus opening and closing it.

The locks, window opener, and light switch, actually, are some of my favorite things about my apartment’s “character.” :)

PS. On a different note, I remember when people at Temecula Valley High School used to call Temecula a “hick town.” Give me a break. 60,000-100,000 (depending on when you counted) is NOT a small town. Try moving somewhere like McPherson before you make any grandiose statements. Of course, everything’s more dramatic in high school, even the size of the town you live in.

Published by

Staci

Staci blogs about travel at TheVoyageer.com.

3 thoughts on “Life in the Big City”

  1. your website is snowing.
    i think there’s 2 or 3 locks on my door too.
    i dont think anyone knows that there’s people living where we live.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.